There’s No Pleasing Everyone in Every Way

image

As part of my full time job, I act as a recruiter (on top of everything else!). I connect with hiring managers at various companies in entertainment, fashion, finance/accounting, law, engineering, medicine, etc. to see what type of internships or full time positions they offer and identify college students in my pool to work for them.

Getting hooked up sounds amazing right??

There were times where my friends wanted to be set up on a date. I just called up who was simply single and tried to get them to go out. Let me tell you, that does not work! Just because they are single doesn’t mean that both people will click. I never took into consideration interests, personalities and values. I did get blamed for it later. My bad! I was trying to help.

There were also times where I told my students about a position that sounded like it had potential but because I didn’t know much about it other than how the recruiter described it, my students became disappointed. The position was not a very good match because it was not what they expected. Needless to say, they weren’t shy about giving me feedback.

I’m not a fan of being a matchmaker. While it sounds fun in theory and is great when it works out, there a lot of things to take into consideration. It’s not easy being a matchmaker because:

  • There needs to be a right match for both parties, not just one person/position. It doesn’t work if one person is really into it and the other is not interested. Otherwise, there’s no “spark” to continue the relationship.
  • There are expectations. I’ve been blamed for setting people up with someone that’s not their type, are “weird”, boring, etc. Truthfully, you said you wanted to go out on a date. How much effort was I going to put in?! It didn’t work, move on…
  • You really need to know both people/position. If you know what each person is like, you can determine if it’s a good fit or not. However environment and culture plays a big part so it’s big things to consider.
  • People are picky!! Some are not opened to other possibilities outside of their “type”. Honestly, who knows what you’ll find?!
  • There are some you don’t expect to match up. Opposites attract. But how are you going to know that if the opportunity is never presented?

Because of these reasons, I always say that I will not become a matchmaker, but create opportunities for them. This includes hosting different events that gathers intimate to large groups of people to have the opportunity to interact. Playing matchmaker isn’t easy, but once you get to know the person/position well, there can be progress made!

Leave a Reply

